Election Watch 2019 covers the Las Cruces 2019 Municipal Elections for: Mayor, Councilors in Districts 1, 2 and 4, School Board Districts 4 and 5, Presiding Judge; and Doña Ana Soil and Water Conservation Board Supervisors 1, 2 and 5.

The following list of Qualified Candidates is taken from the NM Secretary of State
Website. All counties are listed on this website. Scroll down to Dona Ana County:


Due to Ranked Choice Voting, please make these your first five Mayoral choices in the order of your preference, they will support each other in the final count:
Bev Courtney “One Citizen, One Verified Vote” Facebook:@BevCourtney4Mayor
Mike Tellez (current owner of “The Dream Center”)https://miketellezformayor.com/
Jesusita Dolores Lucero (2011 Mayoral Candidate) 575-649-4784
William (Bill) Mattiace (former Republican Las Cruces Mayor)
Isabella Solis (current County Commissioner District 4) “Las Cruces’ First Choice!”
Eugenia (Gina) Montoya Ortega (owned La Fiesta Bakery)
Alexander Paige Baca Fresquez
Jorge Sanchez
Greg Smith (current Las Cruces City Councilor District 2)
Ken Miyagishima (current Las Cruces Mayor)

Candidates for Las Cruces City Council District 1
Shelly Nichols-Shaw “Together, We Can Move Mountains”
Kasandra Gandara (current Las Cruces City Councilor District 1)
**In 2015, Gandara beat Eli Guzman by 18 votes! We CAN’T let this happen again!

*Candidates for Las Cruces City Council District 2
Philip VanVeen “CUT THE RED TAPE” Facebook @ VanVeen Las Cruces
Jason Estrada
Tessa Abeyta Stuve
Jack L.Valencia, Jr.
**In 2015, Smith beat Philip VanVeen by 152 votes! We CAN’T let this happen again!

*Candidates for Las Cruces City Council District 4
Robert Palacios “It Takes a Community!” https://www.rob4lc.com/
Johana Bencomo “We will resist!”
Antoinette Reyes
**In 2015, Eakman beat Rick Hall by 11 Votes! We CAN’T let this happen again!

*Candidates for Las Cruces Public School Board District 4
Janice Williams “A New Direction” http://www.williamsforlascrucesschools.com/
Jesus Joaquin Favela, Jr.
Margaret A. Mendoza
Jeffrey R. Silva
Teresa Maxine Tenorio
William J. Zarges

*Candidates for Las Cruces Public School Board District 5
Carol Cooper “We Are All Part of the Solution”
Edward Frank (current School Board President)
Gloria J. Martinez
Maria G. Pacheco

Candidates for Las Cruces Presiding Municipal Judge
Richard M. Jacquez (former Doña Ana County Magistrate Judge)
Joy Goldbaum (current Municipal Judge II)

Everyone needs to vote for all three Soil & Water Supervisors:
Candidates for Doña Ana Soil and Water Conservation Board
Doña Ana Soil and Water Supervisor 1
Jerry Guy Schickedanz (current Doña Ana Soil and Water Supervisor 1)
Kurt SJ Anderson

Doña Ana Soil and Water Supervisor 2
David Joseph (DJ) Martinez (current Doña Ana Soil and Water Supervisor 2)
Fernando Clemente

Doña Ana Soil and Water Supervisor 5
Joshua L Smith (current Doña Ana Soil and Water Supervisor 5)
Christopher Kost Podruchny Cardenas

*Please note: for the 2019 Municipal Election, Las Cruces will be using Ranked Choice Voting (RCV) for any election with more than two Candidates.
For more info on RCV, please see the website below:

**Las Cruces 2015 Election Results (taken from the following website):
Mayor (2015 results from Page 44 of 296 pages on above report)
Councilor District 1 (2015 results from Page 45 of 296 pages on above report)
Councilor District 2 (2015 results from Page 46 of 296 pages on above report)
Councilor District 4 (2015 results from Page 47 of 296 pages on above report)

According to Las Cruces City Councilor, Greg Smith, Voter turnout in Las Cruces is 10-20% (6/8/19 at RCV Training by Common Cause NM, at DAC Govt. Center).

Vote! Encourage others to vote too!

Sample Ballots are Now Available!
Absentee Ballots can be requested online October 8th- October 31st.
Check your voting info, status, districts you can vote for, where you can vote, request an Absentee Ballot, get your Sample Ballot, etc. at the
“New Mexico Secretary of State’s Voter Services” website:

Enter your first and last name, birth date, select a county and click “I am not a robot.” Once you are verified not to be a robot, click on the “Search” button and your voter info will be listed.

To the left of your voter info will also be listed:
My Polling Location
My Sample Ballot (Click on “My Sample Ballot”)
My Absentee Ballot Application and Ballot Tracker
My Voting History
My County Clerk

Doña Ana County Bureau of Elections (Coordinates both City and County Elections)
You can register to vote or update your voter registration at the website below:
Also on this webpage, click on “Voting and VCCs” and scroll down past the map of Voting Convenience Centers (VCCs) to read about Absentee Voting (10/08/19-11/02/19), Early Voting (10/08/19-11/02/19), Provisional Voting along with Early and Election Day VCCs and times. “Same day registration and voting” are also available 10/08/19-11/02/19 at the county clerk’s office and some alternate early voting locations.

Doña Ana County Clerk’s Office is in charge of the Las Cruces Municipal Elections
Please contact the Clerk’s Office with any questions:
845 N. Motel Blvd., Las Cruces, NM 88004
Phone: 575-647-7428, Fax: 575-527-9857 TDD: 575-525-5951
Email: [email protected]
Website: www.dacelections.com

Same-Day Voter Registration
Tuesday, October 8 – Saturday, 11/02/19 at the following locations:
Doña Ana County Clerk’s Office, Dona Ana County Government Center, 845 N. Motel Blvd
Las Cruces City Hall, 700 N. Main Street
Doña Ana County Community College, Sunland Park, 3365 McNutt Rd., Sunland Park
Photo ID is required.

Early Voting, Voting Convenience Centers (VCCs), Absentee Voting, Same Day Voting: https://donaanacounty.org/elections/vcc

Early Voting October 8th –November 2nd at:
Doña Ana County Government Center, 845 N. Motel Blvd:
Dates: 10/08 – 10/11/19, Tuesday – Friday, 8am – 5pm
10/15 – 10/18/19, Tuesday – Friday, 8am – 5pm
10/21 – 10/25/19, Monday – Friday, 8am – 5pm
10/28 – 11/01/19, Monday – Friday, 8am – 5pm
11/02/19, Saturday, 10am – 6pm

Early Voting at (all locations have the same days/times):
Las Cruces City Hall, 700 N. Main Street;
NMSU Corbett Center, 1600 International Mall;
Sonoma Elementary School, 4201 Northrise Drive:
Dates: 10/19 -11/02/19 (Tuesdays – Saturdays only; closed Sundays and Mondays)
Hours: 11am – 7pm

Additional Early Voting Locations:
Anthony Elementary School, Chaparral-Delores Wright Park, Hatch High School, and Sunland Park-Doña Ana County Community College
Check the website for details: https://donaanacounty.org/elections/vcc

Election Day – 11/05/19, Tuesday, 7am – 7pm
Check the website for all Voting Convenience Centers (VCCs):

Branigan Library will no longer be a Voting Convenience Center (VCC) this Election. You will be directed to Las Cruces City Hall to vote.

Any Voters or Candidates who would like an additional explanation of Ranked Choice Voting, please contact [email protected] to receive a copy.

“We are only ONE Election away from: open borders, gun confiscation, mass immigration, full-term abortions and Socialism.”